23 December - Indian National Farmer’s Day

Odisha CM inaugurated Odisha's longest bridge "T-Setu" in Cuttack.

  • Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik inaugurated Odisha's longest bridge T-Setu over Mahanadi river.
  • The people of Cuttack and Khurda districts will be greatly benefited by this bridge connecting Gopinathpur in Baramba to Baideshwar in Banki.
  • In the shape of T in English alphabet, the bridge was constructed at a cost of Rs 111 crore.
  • The 4 km long bridge connecting Gopinathpur in Baramba, Baideshwar in Banki to Singhnath Peeth in Cuttack will reduce the distance between Baramba and Banki Baideshwar by about 45 km.
  • CM had laid the foundation stone of T-Setu on February 28, 2014. But, due to some technical issues, the construction work got delayed and started in 2018. This bridge will provide communication facility to about 5 lakh people of the surrounding areas.
  • It will also improve agriculture, trade and tourism activities in the region. Devotees coming to Bali Makar Jatra of Baba Singhanath in Badamba block will get its benefit.

Harjinder Singh named India's chef de mission for Beijing Olympics.

  • Indian Olympic Association (IOA) has appointed Indian Ice Hockey Association Secretary General Harjinder Singh as the country's chef de mission contingent for the next 2022 Winter Olympics in Beijing.
  • Singh was also the Chef de Mission of the Indian contingent for the 23rd Winter Olympic Games, which was held in Pyeongchang, South Korea in 2018.
  • Harjinder Singh is the Secretary General of the Ice Hockey Association and led the Indian contingent at the 2018 Winter Games in Pyeongchang, South Korea, where India had two representatives – cross-country skier Jagdish Singh, and six-time Olympian Lugar Shiv Keshavan.

GIS based "Automated Water Supply System" launched.

  • GIS-based Automated Water Supply System for the citizens of Cantonment Boards was recently launched by Defense Minister Rajnath Singh on the occasion of Defense Estates Day 2021.
  • The module for GIS based water supply system for Cantonment Boards has been developed by Bhaskaracharya Sansthan.
  • For Space Applications and Geo-informatics under the guidance of Secretary of Defense and Director General of Defense Estates, Delhi.
  • It is fully automated which facilitates its citizens to identify the location of the water supply connection.
  • It automatically determines the nearest water pipeline.
  • It is the 1st of its kind in the country.

DPIIT is conducting a workshop on the next steps to reduce the compliance burden.

  • The Department for Promotion of Industry and Internal Trade (DPIIT) is organizing a National Workshop on Next Phases of Reforms to Reduce Compliance Burden to realize the nation's goals.
  • It will witness wide participation from across Central Ministries.
  • It will have three sessions with the theme:
    • Breaking Silos and Enhancing Synergies among Government Departments.
    • National Single Sign-on for Efficient Delivery of Citizen Services.
    • Effective Grievance Redressal.

IIT Roorkee ranked 1st amongst the most innovative institutes by CII.

  • IIT Roorkee has been selected for the Industrial Innovation Awards by the prestigious Confederation of Indian Industry (CII).
  • IIT Roorkee has secured the first position in the Most Innovative Research Institutions category this year.
  • Last year, IIT Roorkee was adjudged The Most Innovative Institute of the Year for its innovation quotient.
  • The following innovations have contributed to IIT Roorkee being selected for this award
    • Visco-Elastic Energy Dissipating Link Elements for Earthquake Resistant Housing Construction by Prof. Pankaj Agarwal, Dr. Amit Goel, Dr. Nidhin and Mr. Naveen, Department of Earthquake Engineering.
    • Nitrogen-Doped Reduced Graphene Oxide (N-rGO) for High-Performance Supercapacitor from Prof. Anil Kumar and Dr Sahil Thareja from the Department of Chemistry.
    • Novel hybrid adsorbent for simultaneous removal of arsenic and fluoride from contaminated water by Prof. Prasenjit Mondal, Dr Vineet, Rahul, Hemant, Dr Lokendra and Shubhi, all from the Department of Chemical Engineering.

Post a Comment

Please do not add any SPAM links or unrelated text in comments.

Previous Post Next Post