2022 Nobel Prize in Physics given for work in quantum physics.

  • The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has awarded the 2022 Nobel Prize in Physics to Alain Aspect (France), John F. Clauser (USA) and Anton Zeilinger (Austria).
  • Reason: For experiments with entangled photons, establishing the violation of Bell inequalities and pioneering quantum information science.
  • While John Clauser developed John Bell’s ideas, Alain Aspect has developed the setup, and Anton Zeilinger, using refined tools and a long series of experiments.

India's Mars orbiter dies after eight years.

  • The Indian Mars Orbiter Craft, Mangalyaan has runs out of fuel and battery after completing 8 years.
  • ISRO has launched the Mars Orbiter Mission (MoM) on November 3, 2013.
  • The spacecraft entered the Martian orbit on September 24, 2014.
  • It helped to study the Martian landscape including surface geology, morphology, atmospheric processes, surface temperature, and atmospheric escape process.
  • India is the first nation in the world to reach Mars on a Maiden attempt.

Indian Olympic javelin thrower, Shivpal Singh banned until 2025.

  • The National Anti-Doping Agency (NADA) has suspended Indian javelin thrower, Shivpal Singh (Uttar Pradesh) from competing till October 2025.
  • Reason: Due to a doping violation.
  • The ban comes into effect from October 21, 2021.
  • He has been subsequently tested positive for the banned substance methandienone that is a performance-enhancing steroid.
  • He was won silver medal at the 2019 Asian Championships, where he achieved his personal best throw of 86.23m.

Writer-academic, Madhav Hada to be awarded 32nd Bihari Puraskar.

  • KK Birla Foundation has confirmed that the 32nd Bihari Puraskar wll be awarded to writer, Dr Madhav Hada.
  • Reason: For his 2015 literary criticism book Pachrang Chola Pahar Sakhi Ri.
  • He has written extensively on literature, media, culture and history.
  • He has also been a member of the general council of the Sahitya Akademi and the Hindi Advisory Board.
  • He was alos a recipient of the Bhartendu Harishchandra Award and the Devraj Upadhyay Award.

India's PR Sreejesh voted FIH Men's Goalkeepers of Year.

  • Goalkeeper, PR Sreejesh has been voted the FIH goalkeeper of the year title in the men's categories.
  • He is the third player to win this title in a row.
  • Earlier, David Harte (Ireland) won the prize twice in 2015 and 2016, while Vincent Vanasch (Belgium) won it three times in a row from 2017 to 2019.
  • While, Savita Punia (captain) was voted the FIH Women's Goalkeeper of the Year.
  • She is the third athlete to win this title in Women category for three years in a row.

Post a Comment

Please do not add any SPAM links or unrelated text in comments.

Previous Post Next Post