Mathura-Vrindavan to become a carbon neutral tourist destination by 2041.

  • UP government aims to make one of India’s largest pilgrimage centres, Mathura-Vrindavan a net zero carbon emission tourist destination by 2041.
  • This means that tourist vehicles will be banned from the entire Braj region, which includes famous pilgrim centres such as Vrindavan and Krishna Janmabhoomi.
  • Instead, only electric vehicles used as public transport will be allowed into the area.
  • All 252 water bodies and 24 forests in the area will also be revived.

Aibawk cluster becomes the first cluster to be completed under SPMRM.

  • Aibawk cluster in the Aizwal district of Mizoram has become the first cluster to be completed under the Shyama Prasad Mukherji Rurban Mission (SPMRM).
  • SPMRM was launched by the Prime Minister in February 2016.
  • Aim of scheme: To provide amenities to rural areas which are perceived to be urban and have the potential to stimulate local economic development.
  • Such clusters were selected for well-planned and holistic development.

Union Minister Bhupender Yadav led Indian delegation at COP 27.

  • Bhupender Yadav (Environment, Forest, and Climate Change Minister) will lead Indian delegation to attend the 27th Conference of Parties of the UNFCCC (COP 27).
  • The conference will be scheduled to held at Sharm El-Sheikh, Egypt from 6th to 18th November.
  • Aim: To take action toward achieving the world's collective climate goals as agreed under the Paris agreement and the convention.
  • India will also emphasize again its invitation to all countries to join the LiFE movement.

Asian Hockey Federation CEO, Tayyab Ikram elected as FIH president.

  • Asian Hockey Federation (AHF) CEO, Mohammad Tayyab Ikram (Macau) has been elected as the new president of the International Hockey Federation (FIH) for two years.
  • He has succeeded Narinder Batra (India) as its full-time chief.
  • He has defeated Marc Coudron (Belgium) in the 48th FIH Congress.
  • Batra became the FIH president in 2016, resigned from the post in July.
  • After the resignation of Batra, Seif Ahmed had served as the acting president of the FIH.

Indian men’s squash team won gold at 2022 Asian Team Championships.

  • The Indian men’s team has clinched its first-ever gold at the Asian Squash Team Championships, held in Cheongju, South Korea.
  • The Indian team has defeated Kuwait by 2-0 in final.
  • Saurav Ghoshal and Ramit Tandon have won their games in the final to dole out a 2-0 defeat to Kuwait.
  • The first game was won by Ramit against Ali Aramezi and the second game won by Saurav against Ammar Altamimi.
  • It is the biggest win of Indian Men’s Team since 2014 Asian Games Gold.

Post a Comment

Please do not add any SPAM links or unrelated text in comments.

Previous Post Next Post