PM Modi to address 108th Indian Science Congress on January 3, 2023.

  • Prime Minister Narendra Modi will inaugurate the 108th Indian Science Congress through video conferencing on 3rd January, 2023.
  • Theme 2023: Science and Technology for Sustainable Development with Women Empowerment.
  • The inaugural ceremony will be hosted by Rashtrasant Tukadoji Maharaj Nagpur University (RTMNU) at its Amravati Road Campus.
  • The technical sessions of the 108th Indian Science Congress have been divided into 14 sections.

ISRO, Andhra University set up equipment to predict rip currents at sea.

  • Indian Space and Research Organization, National Centre for Earth Sciences (NCES), and the Andhra University (AU) have researched and concluded that constant rip current zones at Rushikonda beach and RK Beach have become a danger to the beach visitors.
  • They have set up equipment to identify Rip currents to warn marines and local police.
  • Rip currents are common at all beaches across the globe.
  • People can enter the waters in rip current zones up to knee-deep levels.

Ministry of Rural Development launches Prajjwala Challenge.

  • The Ministry of Rural Development under the Deendayal Antyodaya Yojana - National Rural Livelihoods Mission has launched the Prajjwala Challenge.
  • Aim: To invite ideas, solutions and actions that can transform rural economy.
  • The broad contours fall into following categories: Focus on Women and Marginalized section of community; Localised Models; Sustainability; Cost Effective solutions; Multi sectoral ideas and solutions.
  • Top 5 ideas will be rewarded with Rs. 2 Lakh each.

Ajay Kumar Srivastava appointed as new MD and CEO of Indian Overseas Bank.

  • Ajay Kumar Srivastava has been appointed as MD and CEO of Indian Overseas Bank (IOB) with effect from January 1, 2023.
  • Presently, he is serving as the executive director of IOB.
  • He started his banking career as a probationary officer in 1991 with Allahabad Bank.
  • After the successful completion of about 27 years in Allahabad Bank he was elevated as Executive Director of IOB in October 2017.
  • He was appointed as Director on the Board of India Infrastructure Finance Company.

Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva sworn in as 39th president of Brazil.

  • Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva (77) has been sworn in as the 39th president of Brazil.
  • He has defeated Jair Bolsonaro in October 2022 to win an unprecedented third presidential term.
  • In election, he has secured 50.83% of the votes, whereas his opponent, Bolsonaro got 49.17% votes.
  • He was served as the president of Brazil for two terms from 2003 to 2006 and then 2007 to 2011.
  • He is the first Brazilian president to have been elected to a third term in office.

Post a Comment

Please do not add any SPAM links or unrelated text in comments.

Previous Post Next Post