India won gold after 41 years in equestrian in Asian Games 2023.

  • India's dressage team cantered to its first-ever Asian Games 2023 gold and only second medal in the history of the sports.
  • The participants were Sudipti Hajela, Divyakriti Singh, Vipul Hriday Chheda and Anush Agarwalla living up to expectations.
  • They grabbed the top place on the podium leaving behind China and Hong Kong.
  • The last time the sport of equestrian contributed to India's Asian Games tally was in 1986 when the country won a dressage bronze.

Odisha Scientist Swati Nayak wins Norman Borlaug Field Award 2023.

  • Indian agricultural scientist Swati Nayak became the third Indian agriculture scientist to win the prestigious Norman Borlaug Field Award 2023.
  • The Norman Borlaug Field Award 2023 is presented by the World Food Prize Foundation for outstanding achievements in international agriculture and food production by individuals under 40.
  • Nayak speaks to businessline about the importance of the award, her work with the agricultural community and more.

Chhattisgarh bags three national awards for Ayushman Bharat scheme.

  • Chhattisgarh received three national awards for its outstanding execution of the Ayushman Bharat scheme under the big states category.
  • CM Bhupesh Baghel said that Chhattisgarh has introduced several innovative schemes to enhance access to high-quality healthcare services in the past five years.
  • One such initiative is the Mukhyamantri Haat Bazar Clinic Yojana, which extends free healthcare services to residents in remote forest areas of the state.

Pramila Malik becomes the first woman Speaker of Odisha Assembly.

  • Biju Janata Dal (BJD) party member Pramila Malik became the first woman Speaker of the Odisha Assembly.
  • The election of Pramila Malik as the Speaker of the Odisha Legislative Assembly took place on September 22, 2023, and she was elected unopposed.
  • Pramila Malik has been a six-time MLA from the Binjharpur assembly seat in Jajpur district of Odisha. This seat is reserved for the Scheduled Caste community.
  • She initially became an MLA in 1990 as a member of the Janata Dal and later joined the BJD party led by Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik.
  • Before his role as Speaker, he held the post of Minister of Revenue and Disaster Management in the BJD government.

ICC confirms venues of 2024 Men’s T20 World Cup to be co-hosted by USA.

  • The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 will be co-hosted by the USA and West Indies, with matches taking place in major cities like Dallas, Florida, and New York.
  • The International Cricket Council (ICC) has confirmed as many as 10 venues in the West Indies and the USA between June 4 and 30.
  • The West Indies will have 7 venues while the USA will have 3 for the showpiece T20 international tournament.
  • The ICC confirmed Antigua & Barbuda, Barbados, Dominica, Guyana, St Lucia, Trinidad & Tobago, and St Vincent & The Grenadines as the seven Caribbean venues that will host matches during the T20 World Cup 2024 from 4 to 20 June.

Post a Comment

Please do not add any SPAM links or unrelated text in comments.

أحدث أقدم