Priyanka Chopra among 4 Indians on BBC's 100 influential women list.

  • The British Broadcasting Corporation has released the list of 100 most influential women in the world 2022.
  • The list has included women from several areas such as politics, science, entertainment and literature.
  • In this list, four Indian women have also included - Actress Priyanka Chopra Jonas, Geetanjali Shree (Author), Sirisha Bandla (engineer and astronaut), and Sneha Jawale (social worker).
  • The list also included European Commission President, Ursula von der Leyen.

Ukraine President, Volodymyr Zelensky named 2022 Time "Person of the Year".

  • Volodymyr Zelensky (Ukraine President) has been named as the 2022 person of the year by Time magazine.
  • Reason: He has put up a feisty resistance against the Russian invasion (2022).
  • Since the invasion of Russia (February 24), Zelenskyy has delivered daily speeches that are followed by Ukrainians, and governments around the globe.
  • Zelenskyy has shared the 2022 title with the spirit of Ukraine.
  • Time magazine has presented its first Person of the Year award in 1927.

Nirmala Sitharaman, 5 other Indians among World's 100 Most Powerful Women.

  • Six Indian women have been listed in the 2022 Forbes’ annual list of The World’s 100 Most Powerful Women.
  • FM Nirmala Sitharaman has ranked at 36 for fourth time in a row.
  • Kiran Mazumdar-Shaw (Biocon Executive Chairperson) ranked 77, Falguni Nayar (Nykaa founder) ranked 89.
  • Roshni Nadar Malhotra (HCL Chairperson) ranked 53, Madhabi Puri Buch (SEBI Chief) ranked 54, and Soma Mondal (SAIL Chief) ranked 67.
  • Top: Ursula von der Leyen (Belgium), European Commission President.

Aditya Mittal becomes India's 77th Chess Grandmaster.

  • Aditya Mittal (16, Mumbai) has become the 77th chess Grandmaster of India, during an ongoing Ellobregat Open tournament, Spain.
  • He had secured three GM norms, crossed live rating of 2,500 ELO points mark during the sixth round of the ongoing tournament.
  • He drew the game against Francisco Vallejo Pons to achieve the feat.
  • He won his maiden GM norm at Serbia Masters 2021.
  • Subsequently, he obtained his second GM norm at Ellobregat Open 2021 and third at Serbia Masters 2022

McLaughlin-Levrone, Mondo Duplantis won "World Athlete of the Year" awards.

  • Sydney McLaughlin-Levrone from USA and Mondo Duplantis from Sweden have been honored with the 2022 World Athletes of the Year at the World Athletics Awards.
  • McLaughlin-Levrone: She had broken the world women's 400m hurdles record twice.
  • She became the first American to win Athlete of the Year since fellow 400m hurdler Dalilah Muhammad in 2019.
  • Duplantis: He broken the world pole vault record on three occasion and became world champion indoors and outdoors.

Post a Comment

Please do not add any SPAM links or unrelated text in comments.

Previous Post Next Post