Tata Group becomes the title sponsor for WPL.

  • BCCI secretary, Jay Shah has informed that the TATA Group has bagged the title rights for the Women's Premier League (WPL) 2023.
  • The first match of WPL 2023 will begin between Gujarat Giants and Mumbai Indians on March 4 at the DY Patil Stadium.
  • In its first season, the WPL will stage a total of 20 league matches and two Playoff games that will be played.
  • Five teams: Delhi Capitals, Gujarat Giants, Mumbai Indians, Royal Challengers Bangalore & UP Warriorz.

Karthik Subramaniam wins National Geographic "Pictures Of The Year".

  • An Indian-origin, Karthik Subramaniam has won the prestigious National Geographic Pictures of The Year award with his photograph titled Dance of the Eagles.
  • The award-winning photograph captured a bald eagle intimidating its peers to claim a prime log while salmon hunting in the Chilkat Bald Eagle Preserve in Alaska.
  • He titled the picture Dance of the Eagles as a homage to the fictional dragon war in George R.R. Martin’s novel A Dance with Dragons.

18th UIC World Security Congress organized by Railway Protection Force.

  • The 18th UIC World Security Congress has been started commenced in Jaipur, India on 21st February 2023.
  • The 3-day Conference is being jointly organized by the International Union of Railways, Paris and Railway Protection Force.
  • Theme 2023: Railway Security Strategy: Responses and Vision for Future.
  • The World Security Congress is a globally recognized security platform.
  • The Union International Des Chemins (UIC) or International Union of Railways was established in 1922.

Rudrankksh Patil wins gold in men’s 10m air rifle in ISSF World Cup 2023.

  • Indian shooter, Rudrankksh Patil clinched his first World Cup individual gold in the men’s 10m air rifle event at the ISSF World Cup in Cairo, Egypt.
  • He defeated Maximilian Ulbrich of Germany, who was settled for silver.
  • While Miran Maricic of Croatia won the bronze medal.
  • In women’s 10m air rifle, Tilottama Sen (14) won the second bronze for India.
  • Seonaid Mcintosh (Great Britain) won gold and Nina Christen (Switzerland) settled for silver.

Pt Prem Kumar Mallick bags for the Sangeet natak Akademi Award 2019.

  • Noted classical singer, Pt Prem Kumar Mallick has been selected for the prestigious Sangeet Natak Akademi Awards for 2019.
  • Reason: Contributions in the field of music (Hindustani Vocal).
  • He is a professor in the department of music and performing arts at Allahabad University.
  • He will receive this award along with other artists from across the country for the award for years 2019, 2020, and 2021.
  • President Droupadi Murmu will present the award on February 23.

Post a Comment

Please do not add any SPAM links or unrelated text in comments.

Previous Post Next Post